Once. You swing and miss each time you serve, and your opponent commits a double fault each time he serves. Eventually you find yourself serving at 6-5 or 7-6 in the tiebreak, and then you heroically serve an ace.
From Dick Hess, All-Star Mathlete Puzzles, 2009.
UPDATE: A reader points out that a superlatively lazy player can win a set without ever hitting the ball, thanks to the hindrance rule:
If a player is hindered in playing the point by a deliberate act of the opponent(s), the player shall win the point.
“On the crucial tie-break point, your opponent dashes across the net and tackles you, awarding you the point and the set.”
Futility Closet is a collection of entertaining curiosities in history, literature, language, art, philosophy, and mathematics, designed to help you waste time as enjoyably as possible.
You can read Futility Closet on the web, subscribe by RSS, or sign up to receive a free daily email -- see "Subscribe by Email" in the sidebar.
You can support us by telling your friends about us, leaving a review of the books or podcast on Amazon or iTunes, pledging to our Patreon campaign to support the podcast, or contributing directly via the Donate button in the sidebar above. Thanks!